jump to navigation

Marshmallow Fondant! January 24, 2012

Posted by craftyjada in Uncategorized.
trackback

Got this idea off Pinterest from this lovely website: http://seddy5.typepad.com/blog/2010/05/how-to-make-marshmallow-fondant.html

I’m going for attempt #2 on cake pops, but this time I am going to try a different flavor cake, less frosting, and maybe play around with some fondant covering (either by itself or after having dipped in chocolate).  I have heard that store-bought fondant has roughly the flavor of cardboard, though, and found a lovely marshmallow fondant recipe online, so I figured that for the price of a bag of marshmallows and some powdered sugar, it was worth giving a try.  The pops aren’t ready yet, but I think that the fondant turned out pretty well, and can’t wait to roll it out and cover a few pops! Here’s the finished fondant, stored in saran wrap, in baggies.  I was going for one red and one pink (the pink one is the color of the marshmallows-they were pink Valentine’s Day heart shaped ones).

Ok, so this is what you’ll need:

1 bag of marshmallows (I actually used about a bag and a half to get these two balls of fondant)

1 bag of confectioners powdered sugar (I think if you have a sifter, and could sift the sugar first, it would work better, but I don’t have one, so I couldn’t test that out…)

Food coloring/flavoring- I used gel food coloring for the red, and vanilla extract for just the red one.  I read that without flavoring, the fondant works just fine-just tastes sweet and flavorless, which works well if it’s going on something with strong enough flavors of its own.  

A stick of butter to help grease your spoon/hands when working with the marshmallow dough-things get pretty sticky.

A wooden spoon or spatula (I used a spatula), work space for working the dough (I used a cutting board), and microwave (though I would think a double boiler would work just fine.

Step 1- Put two generous handfuls of marshmallows into a microwave-safe bowl.  I’m sure you could make bigger batches, but I found it was easy to work with about that much at a time.

Step 2- Microwave the marshmallows about 10-20 seconds at a time until you get a fluffy, sticky, gooey mess.

Not Quite Done Yet

Step 3-  Stir the marshmallow until it is pretty smooth/consistent texture.  It would be a good idea to grease up your spoon or spatula prior to stirring so that it doesn’t stick immediately.  Now is a good time to add any food coloring or flavoring.  Adding the powdered sugar does lighten up the color, so be sure to go for a tad darker shade than you want it to end up being.

All ready now!

Step 4-  Pour a generous amount of powdered sugar right into the bowl and start folding it into the marshmallow.  I found that starting out with the spatula was fine, but it went faster if I greased my hands up with some butter and worked it in with my hands. When you get a fluffy, light dough texture, it is ready to go onto your working surface.

Step 5-  Sprinkle a good amount of powdered sugar on your working surface, and then pour the dough out onto it.  Keep folding in the powdered sugar until the fondant is solid and stiff enough to hold its form and be able to be rolled out.  You CAN add some more food coloring here (I had to with my red fondant, since it wasn’t red enough), but it’s harder to work in and caused mine to get super sticky again, so I had to add more powdered sugar.  The site I found this on said that if the fondant is too sticky to keep adding sugar, and if it gets too stiff to keep adding butter.

 

 

 

 

 

6- When I had the balls of fondant at the right texture, I just wrapped them in saran wrap and stuck them in ziplock baggies until my pops are ready, and then I’ll roll them out and see how they work out.  🙂

Give it a try and see if they work out for you.  Let me know if you find any shortcuts or tricks that work bett

 

 

 

 

 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

