jump to navigation

Butterfly Cupcakes June 17, 2012

Posted by craftyjada in Uncategorized.
trackback

Decided to try another “Hello, Cupcake” recipe for my end-of-year faculty party.  This one involved making butterfly wings out of chocolate and candy melts.  Basically you pipe the chocolate outline of a butterfly wing (with a template) on wax paper, fill with whatever color you want of candy melts for butterfly wings, swirl the colors together with a toothpick, and let it cool/solidify.  Then you assemble the wings on to a cupcake with frosting dyed the color you want to coordinate with your butterflies, and you’re good to go!  I decided to make blue, purple, pink, and yellow butterfly cupcakes, and to try out one of my giant Wilton star tips for the frosting so it would look like roses that the cupcakes were sitting on.  Here’s the picture tutorial/process:

Using a decorating bag with a small circular tip or a ziplock baggie with a TINY corner snipped off, pipe chocolate around the edge of the wing template. (The recipe called for dark chocolate, and I used milk chocolate, which melts like CRAZY when you try to assemble later. Next time I will try the dark and see if it works better).

 

Fill the inside with whatever color you want it to be, give it a little wiggle to smooth out the color to the edges of the chocolate, and use a toothpick to swirl the colors together.

 

Sprinkle the edges (if you like) with small white nonpereils (how do you even pronounce that word?) and then do the rest of the wings (and antennae, only just use chocolate for those), and put in the fridge for about 15 minutes to harden. Then they pop right off the wax paper and I put them in a rubbermaid tub to keep in the fridge until I needed them for the cupcakes. I made the wings a few days ahead of time so assembly would be simple.

 

I baked my cupcakes in pretty papers that have grass on them to look more like flowers and then tinted the four colors of frosting to match the four colors of butterfly wings I had pre-made. Then I used a large tip to frost them in the (rough) shape of roses.

 

The trick is to go from the inside to the outside in circles using the 2D tip. Was easier than I thought it would be.

 

Next, set two brown M&M’s about a half inch apart to use as supports to lean the wings against, and then gently (but quickly, so they don’t melt in your fingers) set the wings in the frosting. Note: I only had red M&M’s on hand, and no one complained, but I did think they were kind of ugly against the pretty colors. Next time I’ll get brown ones to match, or maybe try small marshmallows cut in half instead…

 

Pipe large beads of frosting down the middle for the body, and you’re done. I did make several of the chocolate antennaes (you can see one to the right side here), but most of them melted in my fingers and fell apart before they made it to the cupcake. I don’t think the ones without the antennaes were too bad looking, so maybe I won’t bother with them next time…

 

Repeat for the rest of your cupcakes, and you have a lovely butterfly garden!

More pretty!  Except those red M&Ms… I will definitely change that up next time.  Note that my pretty rose frosting doesn’t really come across here either, so maybe next time I won’t worry so much about that part.

Comments»

1. Deirdre Statham - May 7, 2013

I’ve made these and I just squished the wings a little into the buttercream. No m & m’s required.


Leave a Reply

