jump to navigation

Halloween pumpkin carving October 24, 2012

Posted by craftyjada in Uncategorized.
trackback

From the time I was a small child, I have always loved carving pumpkins at Halloween time.  My dad was the King-of-all-Pumpkin-Carving…at least in my eyes, and he taught me all the tricks of the trade that he knew.  Every year he would help me select the perfect orange canvas and dutifully scoop out the guts from the inside, scraping the middle until it was the perfect width for carving-thin enough to easily cut the shapes out but thick enough that the light didn’t show too much through the sides.  As I got older, I learned how to transfer a pattern onto the pumpkin and really started to take off with my carving skills.  It was around this time that I also had to learn how to re-affix a piece that fell off using a toothpick.  This skill was practiced frequently as I would often accidentally cut into an unwanted section of the pumpkin.  I realized tonight that the last time I think I carved pumpkins was in 2003, when I got some patterns off of http://www.homestarrunner.com of many of it’s characters: Strong Mad, Homestar Runner, the Cheat, and Strong Bad.

This was back when my camera was not what I would call “HD”…

 

This year, because we have Tania in the house (and she has a pumpkin carving contest for an exchange program party this weekend), I decided to try and stretch my skills.  I was proud to find that carving pumpkins is a little like riding a bike- it may have been 9 years since I last carved a pumpkin, but I jumped back in with both feet and tackled one of the most difficult patterns I’ve ever seen- Rick Grimes from “The Walking Dead”.  I love me some zombie shows/movies, and this was a great homage.  The best part?  I didn’t even have to “toothpick fix” a single part.  You can find this pattern and a TON of awesome others at http://www.zombiepumpkins.com/

Rick back when he still had his sanity….

Tania’s pumpkin turned out pretty good, too! Definitely awesome for a first pumpkin carving ever! I’m so proud of her…

Kinda makes me want to go out and get some more pumpkins… I have a Sweedish Chef and an Audrey II stencil I’m itching to try now that I mastered this piece of work!

 

Comments»

1. Beth - October 25, 2012

I’m in full support of making a Swedish Chef pumpkin. Bork bork!


Leave a Reply

